Can I travel to all European Countries with the ETIAS visa waiver?


The ETIAS travel authorization can only be used to enter Schengen Area member states. This means that if you want to visit countries that are not part of the Schengen Zone you must process a visa or any other documentation that might be required. It is advised to check with the country’s embassy or consulate.

The ETIAS visa, however, grants visitors the possibility to travel to and within 26 European countries, territories and 3 microstates, including the Vatican. An approved ETIAS will be valid for three consecutive years, and an ETIAS holder can remain in a Schengen member country for up to 90 days.

Countries that are currently not part of the Schengen Zone are:

  • Cyprus
  • Croatia
  • Bulgaria
  • Romania
  • Ireland
  • United Kingdom (UK)

The departure of the UK from the EU will likely have an effect on travellers to this country, although these changes are yet to be determined. The five remaining countries might join the Schengen Zone in the near future.